Costa will escape ban for Skrtel kick, claims Webb

Date published: Sunday 1st November 2015 1:34

Chelsea striker Diego Costa will escape an FA ban for an apparent kick to Liverpool defender Martin Skrtel, believes referee chief Howard Webb.

Costa drove his studs into Skrtel’s midriff as the pair fell to the floor following a foul by the Chelsea striker during the 3-1 defeat to Liverpool – and the FA could take action if they deem it to have been deliberate.

However, Webb, technical director of the Professional Game Match Officials Board, believes Costa will escape punishment.

Speaking on BT Sport after the game, Webb said: “They (The FA) will have a look I think. I think it is a clear red card. He commits a foul on Martin Skrtel, then there is a little kick.

“The second action is a clear act of violent conduct. Mark Clattenburg is pretty close and is in a good position and it’s difficult to say that he hasn’t seen this.

“Normally the FA won’t take action when the ref is looking at it. But just because he is looking in that direction it doesn’t mean he is focussed on that act of violence, and he can’t have been because he didn’t see the kick and didn’t give a red card.

“I doubt that the FA will take action because Mark is looking in that direction and it is not off the ball. But it is a clear red card and Diego Costa is a lucky boy on that occasion.”

More Related Articles