Harry Kane has responded to Virgil van Dijk’s claim that the Tottenham striker dived to win a penalty at Anfield on Sunday.
Liverpool were held to a 2-2 draw after Kane netted his 100th Premier League in injury-time from the spot – his second penalty in the closing stages.
Before missing his first spot-kick, Kane is accused by Van Dijk to have dived when Liverpool keeper Loris Karius rushed from his line in an attempt to smother the ball at the striker’s feet.
Asked if he was touched by Karius, Kane said replied: “Yeah. He has dived, he has got in the way and I’m a player, I’m not going to jump out of the way because it’s football.
“I’ve definitely felt contact and I’ve gone down.”
Kane also paid tribute to assistant referee Ed Smart after the official spotted Van Dijk’s kick on Erik Lamela before drawing referee Jon Moss’s attention to the foul.
“Lamela’s one I thought the linesman showed amazing character to give that,” said Kane. “Because a lot happened for the first one about the linesman so to give that penalty was massive and it was a penalty.”