Swans boss says Rashford ‘deceived the referee’

Date published: Sunday 30th April 2017 3:46

Swansea boss Paul Clement just stopped short of using the ‘D’ word but he says that Marcus Rashford “deceived the referee” to win Manchester United’s penalty.

The Swans took a point from Old Trafford courtesy of Gylfi Sigurdsson’s late equaliser but United’s goal came courtesy of Rashford taking a leap over Lucasz Fabianski.

“My players clearly thought it wasn’t a penalty, and seeing the replay the player [Marcus Rashford] has deceived the referee. It’s clear. There’s no other way to look at it,” said Clement. Indeed.

“The ref seemed to have some doubts because there was a big delay and I spoke to him afterwards and he said he was only receiving confirmation from his assistants.

“It was a mistake. He went down way before there was contact.”

Opposite number Jose Mourinho said: “I don’t have a view because I didn’t watch.

“And I have Marcus’ opinion and he said that the goalkeeper touched him.”

More Related Articles

Comments