Arsenal man and two others handed first England call-ups

Date published: Thursday 1st October 2020 2:19 - Joe Williams

Bukayo-Saka-Arsenal-F365 England

Gareth Southgate has handed three players their first senior England call-ups as he named a squad of 30 players on Thursday for October matches against Wales, Belgium and Denmark.

Arsenal defender Bukayo Saka, Everton striker Dominic Calvert-Lewin and Leicester City midfielder Harvey Barnes have been called up for the first time.

England boss Southgate welcomes back Jordan Henderson, Ben Chilwell and Harry Maguire after they missed out on last month’s matches against Iceland and Denmark.

MEDIAWATCH: Sancho confusion, Spurs RILED, Liverpool > Bayern and more…

Maguire was initially called up for the Nations League games last month, despite an ongoing court hearing on the Greek island of Syros.

Southgate backed Maguire when announcing his squad in August but was forced to drop the 27-year-old later the same day after he was found guilty of assaulting a police officer, swearing, resisting arrest and bribery following an alleged incident on Mykonos.

Maguire, who strenuously denies the offences, has appealed against the verdict and subsequent 21-month suspended prison sentence and has since played in United’s two opening Premier League games, as well as the Carabao Cup win at Luton.

While Maguire was included, his Manchester United team-mate Mason Greenwood and Manchester City’s Phil Foden were both missing.

The pair made their senior England debuts last month in Iceland before being fined by local police and sent home for breaching Covid-19 regulations.

Southgate said at the time that “trust needs to be rebuilt” with Greenwood and Foden, who are absent from the squad announced on Thursday.

The Three Lions will play a friendly against Wales on October 8, before two Nations League matches against Belgium and Denmark on October 11 and 15 respectively.


Full England squad:

Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Harvey Barnes (Leicester City), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa) Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Danny Ings (Southampton), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal) Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City),  James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur)


More Related Articles