European qualification confirmed: how Prem clubs reached Champions League and Europa competitions

News Desk
Champions League trophy next to the Europa League and Europa Conference League trophies.

With the Premier League season done and dusted, those qualifying for European competition next campaign have been confirmed.

Everyone knows the Premier League’s top four qualifies for the Champions League. That’s usually pretty clear-cut – unless you’re Harry Redknapp’s Tottenham. But the other routes into Europe are not always as obvious. Here are the qualification criteria and permutations for the three main UEFA competitions.


Champions League
The top four finishers in the Premier League enter at the group stage. No pesky qualification rounds necessary.

Europa League
There are usually two Europa League places up for grabs. One belongs to the fifth-placed finisher in the Premier League. The other goes to the winners of the FA Cup. Both enter at the group stage.

Europa Conference League
As well as all the fizzy pop they can drink, the Carabao Cup winners also receive a place in the play-off stages for Europa Conference League.


Had a team from outside the top four won the Champions League or Europa League then there would be five English representatives in the Champions League but exits by Chelsea and Manchester United really do keep this simple: The top four enter the Champions League at the group stage.

If a team who finishes in the top four also wins the Champions League (Manchester City), the place isn’t passed on to another club.

The first European place allocated this season was Manchester United’s after their Carabao Cup triumph. But they also finished in the top four, so their Europa Conference League place was reserved for the next highest Premier League finisher not already qualified for Europe.

The same applies if the FA Cup winners finish in the top five – their Europa League place will go to the Premier League’s highest finisher without a European place by other means. After Brighton and Sheffield United were vanquished in the semi-finals, that reverted to the Premier League.

Fifth and sixth place will subsequently enter the Europa League next season, and seventh will go into the Europa Conference League. Which is how West Ham found themselves in Europe again this season.

European qualifiers for 2023/23:
Manchester City, Arsenal, Manchester United and Newcastle United: Champions League
Liverpool and Brighton: Europa League
Aston Villa: Europa Conference League