De Bruyne and three Liverpool players among nominees for PFA Player of the Year

Date published: Wednesday 1st June 2022 5:20 - News Desk

De Bruyne nominated for POTY

Man City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne is once again on the shortlist for PFA Player of the Year after winning the award in each of the last two seasons.

De Bruyne has once again been key for City as he helped them retain the Premier League title in 2021/22.

Liverpool trio Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Virgil van Dijk join him on the list along with Man Utd’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Tottenham’s Harry Kane. Son Heung-Min misses out despite sharing the Golden Boot with Salah.

The good news: Liverpool fans cannot be smeared in 2022 in the way they were in 1989

De Bruyne’s City team-mate Phil Foden is on an all-English shortlist for the Young Player of the Year gong.

Foden will be hoping to retain his title from last term. The other nominees this season are Arsenal midfield duo Bukayo Saka and Emile Smith-Rowe, Chelsea’s Crystal Palace loanee Conor Gallagher, Chelsea full-back Reece James and Aston Villa midfielder Jacob Ramsey.

City are also well represented in the women’s categories. Lauren Hemp, who won the young player award last season, has been nominated in the senior and young player shortlists.

Team-mate Alex Greenwood is also on the main women’s player shortlist, but the pair face stiff competition from Chelsea duo Sam Kerr and Pernille Harder, who helped their team win the domestic double.

Arsenal’s Dutch forward Vivianne Miedema and her Gunners team-mate Kim Little complete the main player of the year shortlist.

Hemp, who is a three-time winner of the PFA young player prize in the past, is joined on the young player nominees list this season by Chelsea forward Lauren James, Arsenal’s Norwegian star Frida Maanum, Tottenham striker Jessica Naz, Manchester United forward Ella Toone and Brighton defender Maya Le Tissier.

The winners of these awards, plus the teams of the season for the Premier League, Women’s Super League, Championship, League One and League Two and the winners of the men’s and women’s lifetime achievement prizes will be announced at a virtual ceremony on June 9.


More Related Articles