Eight Prem clubs represented in ‘Golden Boy’ vote

Date published: Thursday 29th September 2016 12:49

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham are all represented in the list of the 40 nominees to win the coveted ‘Golden Boy’ award.

The award, handed to the most promising young player in Europe, and is voted on by sports journalists across the continent.

All nominees must be under the age of 21, and must also play in a top-flight league in Europe.

The Premier League nominees include Alex Iwobi of Arsenal, Chelsea’s Ruben Lofuts-Cheek, Liverpool midfielder Marko Grujic, Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford, and Dele Alli of Tottenham.

Leicester and Manchester City are also represented, with Demarai Gray and Kelechi Iheanacho among the nominees.

The award has been won by Premier League players in the last two seasons, with Anthony Martial claiming the gong last year to follow in the footsteps of Raheem Sterling.


Premier League nominees
Dele Alli (Tottenham), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Marko Gruijic (Liverpool), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Leroy Sane (Manchester City).

La Liga nominees
Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Carlos Fernandez (Sevilla), Lucas Hernandez (Atletico Madrid), Antonio Sarabria (Real Betis).

Bundesliga nominees
Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Andreas Christensen (Borussia Monchengladbach), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Mahmoud Dahoud (Gladbach), Ousmane Dembele (Borussia Dortmund), Breel Embolo (Schalke), Alen Halilovic (Hamburg), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich), Jonathan Tah (Leverkusen).

Serie A nominees
Amadou Diawara (Napoli), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Gabigol (Inter), Jules Ntcham (Genoa).

Eredivisie nominees
Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax), Nathan (Vitesse), Jairo Riedewald (Ajax).

Ligue Un nominees
Gabriel Boschilia (Monaco), Emanuel Mammana (Lyon), Almamy Toure (Monaco).

Primeira Liga nominees
Danilo (Benfica), Goncalo Guedes (Benfica), Ruben Neves (Porto).

Nominees from other leagues
Leon Bailey (Racing Genk), Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb), Moussa Dembele (Celtic), Aleksandr Golovin (CSKA Moscow), Viktor Kovalenko (Shakhtar Donetsk), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht).

More Related Articles