New England Under-21 era begins with six Man City players plus departed Cole Palmer

News Desk

Just seven of England’s European Under-21 Championship winners are in Lee Carsley’s latest squad as a new cycle begins.

The likes of Anthony Gordon, Morgan Gibbs-White, Emile Smith-Rowe and Jacob Ramsey are no longer eligible as the Young Lions kick off their qualifying process for the 2025 tournament against Luxembourg on September 11.

Taylor Harwood-Bellis (who has signed for Southampton on loan), new Burney goalkeeper James Trafford, Jarrad Branthwaite, Charlie Cresswell, Harvey Elliott, new £40m Chelsea signing Cole Palmer and Noni Madueke (who was excellent this week in the Carabao Cup) are those who remain from this summer’s successful tournament in Romania and Georgia.

Palmer is the only player in this latest squad who has scored more than once for the England Under-21 side.

Chelsea defender Levi Colwill would still be eligible but he has been promoted to the senior England squad.

Manchester City duo Rico Lewis and James McAtee are back in the squad following their absence in the summer while Carsley has included a host of players from the England Under-20s group in his 23-man squad.

Among those is Tottenham striker Dane Scarlett, while Borussia Dortmund striker Jamie Bynoe-Gittens and Juventus forward Sam Iling-Junior are also included.

The squad

Goalkeepers: James Beadle (Oxford United, loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Sam Tickle (Wigan Athletic), James Trafford (Burnley)

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Charlie Cresswell (Leeds United), Callum Doyle (Leicester City, loan from Manchester City), Taylor Harwood-Bellis (Southampton, loan from Manchester City), Rico Lewis (Manchester City), Brooke Norton-Cuffy (Millwall, loan from Arsenal), Josh Wilson-Esbrand (Stade de Reims, loan from Manchester City), Nathan Wood (Swansea City)

Midfielders: Harvey Elliott (Liverpool), Hayden Hackney (Middlesbrough), James McAtee (Manchester City), Charlie Patino (Swansea City, loan from Arsenal), Aaron Ramsey (Burnley)

Forwards: Jamie Bynoe-Gittens (Borussia Dortmund), Liam Delap (Hull City, loan from Manchester City), Sam Edozie (Southampton), Sam Iling-Junior (Juventus), Noni Madueke (Chelsea), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Dane Scarlett (Ipswich Town, loan from Tottenham Hotspur)