Four Premier League players on FIFA POTY shortlist

Date published: Tuesday 24th July 2018 2:14

FIFA have named a ten-man shortlist that also contained four World Cup winners.

Harry Kane, Mo Salah, Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard have all been named on FIFA’s ten-man shortlist for their Player of the Year award.

The four Premier League players are joined by Lionel Messi and Ronaldo, as well as World Cup winners Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe and Raphael Varane, and World Cup finalist and Golden Ball winner Luka Modric.

The award judges performances for the 12 months up to the World Cup final that was won by France on July 15.

One notable absentee is PSG and Brazil star Neymar, while there was no Spaniard on the list after their poor tournament.

Earlier, FIFA announced a ten-man Coach of the Year shortlist that included England boss Gareth Southgate as well as Premier League managers Pep Guardiola and Jurgen Klopp.


More from Planet Sport

Too rare to care? Can Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer still be considered rivals? (Tennis365)

Johnny Nic on rugby: Game too brutal these days (Planet Rugby)

Pit Chat: Toto Wolff puts in a call to God (Planet F1)


More Related Articles