Liverpool to turn down EFL Trophy place – report

Date published: Wednesday 6th July 2016 3:01 - Sarah Winterburn

Liverpool are reportedly ready to turn down a place in the revamped EFL Trophy.

The Liverpool Echo claim that ‘the Reds have not yet received reassurances on several questions they had asked of the Football League in relation to the new format’, with one major sticking point thought to be the use of Anfield.

The EFL have invited 16 guest clubs – Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Leicester City, Liverpool, Man City, Man United, Middlesbrough, Newcastle United, Southampton, Stoke City, Sunderland, Swansea City, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion and West Ham United – to enter a young side featuring at least six Under-21 players.

Here is the new competition format, according to the good folks at the English Football League:

– 48 clubs from League One & Two.
– 16 invited Category One Academy teams.

Eligibility Criteria:
– EFL Clubs – a minimum of 5 ‘First Team’ players in the starting 11 as defined under the competition’s existing rules.
– Invited Clubs – 6 of the starting 11 to be U21 (as at June 30).

Group Stage:
– 16 groups of 4 teams organised on a regionalised basis.
– Groups to include one invited club and at least one club from each of Leagues One & Two.
– Clubs to play each other once, either home or away. Invited clubs will play one home game at the club’s first team stadium.
– Clubs will be awarded 3 points for a win and 1 point for a draw. In the event of a drawn game (after 90 minutes), a penalty shootout will be held with the winning team earning an additional point.
– The top two teams will progress to the Knockout Stage.

Knockout Stage:
– Round 2 (32 teams) will remain regionalised with each group winner being drawn at home to a second placed team from a different qualifying group.
– Round 3 (16 teams) and Round 4 (8 teams) will be ‘free’ draws.
– Semi-finals (4 teams) will be a ‘free’ draw and will consist of single ties played at the stadium of the club drawn first in each tie.
– If scores are level after 90 minutes in Rounds 2, 3 and 4, the game will be determined by the taking of penalties. The EFL will confirm arrangements for the Semi-Finals and Final in due course following further consultation.

– Group Stage
– w/c 29th August 2016
– w/c 3rd October 2016
– w/c 7th November 2016

– Round 2 – w/c 5th December 2016
– Round 3 – w/c 9th January 2017
– Round 4 – w/c 23rd January 2017
– Semi- Final – w/c 20th February 2017
– Final – 2nd April 2017 (Wembley Stadium)

The date of the draw for the group stage will be announced in due course.

Match Proceeds:

After deduction of match expenses, all proceeds will be split:
– 45% Home Club
– 45% Away Club
– 10% to the pool account

Invited clubs will donate all or some of their share of gate receipts to a fund that will be shared equally by League One and Two clubs.

Group Stage – Invited Clubs will donate their 45% share to the fund.
Knockout Stage – Invited Clubs will retain 25% of their share and donate 20% to the fund.
Semi-finals & Final – Invited Clubs will retain 30% of their share and donate 15% to the fund.

More Related Articles