The real quiz: Liverpool have twice as many players as Man City in PFA Team of the Year

Date published: Thursday 9th June 2022 7:35 - Matthew Stead

Rodri walks with Pep Guardiola

Liverpool players make up more than half of the PFA Premier League Team of the Year because this means more.

Despite finishing second to Manchester City in the Premier League, Liverpool have twice as many players as the champions in the season’s best XI, as voted for by fellow professionals.

Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk, Thiago Alcantara and Sadio Mane are joined by Player of the Year Mo Salah in the side.

Manchester City are represented by Joao Cancelo, Kevin De Bruyne and Bernardo Silva, while Chelsea and Manchester United have one player each in Antonio Rudiger and Cristiano Ronaldo respectively.

It is Ronaldo’s fifth appearance in a Premier League Team of the Year; Alisson, Rudiger and Thiago have made the side for the first time.


PFA Premier League Team of the Year
Alisson (Liverpool)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea)
Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Thiago Alcantara (Liverpool)
Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates his goal


PFA WSL Team of the Year
Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea)
Ona Batlle (Manchester United)
Leah Williamson (Arsenal)
Millie Bright (Chelsea)
Alex Greenwood (Manchester City)
Kim Little (Arsenal)
Caroline Weir (Manchester City)
Guro Reiten (Chelsea)
Lauren Hemp (Manchester City)
Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)


PFA Championship Team of the Year
Lee Nicholls (Huddersfield Town)
Djed Spence (Nottingham Forest)
Tosin Adarabioyo (Fulham)
Lloyd Kelly (Bournemouth)
Tim Ream (Fulham)
Harry Wilson (Fulham)
Fabio Carvalho (Fulham)
Philip Billing (Bournemouth)
Aleksandar Mitrovic (Fulham)
Dominic Solanke (Bournemouth)
Ben Brereton Diaz (Blackburn Rovers)


PFA League One Team of the Year
Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth)
Harry Darling (Milton Keynes Dons)
Jack Whatmough (Wigan Athletic)
Michael Ihiekwe (Rotherham United)
Ricardo Santos (Bolton Wanderers)
Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday)
Scott Twine (Milton Keynes Dons)
Cameron Brannagan (Oxford United)
Cole Stockton (Morecambe)
Ross Stewart (Sunderland)
Will Keane (Wigan Athletic)


PFA League Two Team of the Year
Liam Roberts (Northampton Town)
Kane Wilson (Forest Green Rovers)
Fraser Horsfall (Northampton Town)
Peter Clarke (Tranmere Rovers)
Jon Guthrie (Northampton Town)
Ebrima Adams (Forest Green Rovers)
Matt Jay (Exeter City)
Nicky Cadden (Forest Green Rovers)
Dominic Telford (Newport County)
Matt Stevens (Forest Green Rovers)
Jamille Matt (Forest Green Rovers)

More Related Articles