Ridiculous statistics: Fernandes on course to break award record

Ian Watson

Bruno Fernandes has been named Premier League Player of the Month for the third time this year.

The Manchester United star earned November’s gong with four goals and an assist in four games against Arsenal, Everton, West Brom and Southampton.

Fernandes has now won the award three times in the six months he has been eligible. He claimed the February honour in his first month as a Premier League player before retaining it in June after the season restarted.

His latest award equals a Premier League record, with Fernandes only the third player to earn the hat-trick in a calendar year. The two other players to win three awards in 12 months: Ashley Young for Aston Villa in 2008, and Harry Kane in 2017.

Fernandes could still make it four awards this year having got December off to a great start. He came off the bench against West Ham with United flailing before inspiring a fight-back which saw the Red Devils win 3-1.

Fernandes created eight chances from open play – more than any other player in any Premier League game this season. A reminder: he came on at half-time.

Since his debut on February 1, Fernandes has won as many Premier League Player of the Month awards as Gareth Bale, Mo Salah, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Robbie Keane.

If he continues at his present, ridiculous rate, Fernandes will have tied with Steven Gerrard and Harry Kane by the end of the season and he’s have the record outright by next winter.

Here are the multiple winners of the Premier League Player of the Month award..

7 – Sergio Aguero

6 – Steven Gerrard* , Harry Kane

5 –  Robin van Persie , Wayne Rooney

4 – Dennis Bergkamp*, Cristiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, Frank Lampard, Paul Scholes, Alan Shearer*, Jamie Vardy.

3 –  Bruno Fernandes, Gareth Bale, Robbie Keane*, Sadio ManeMohamed Salah, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Peter Odemwingie, Son Heung-min, Dwight Yorke, Ashley Young.

2 – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Nicolas Anelka, James Beattie, Dimitar Berbatov, Diego Costa, Dion Dublin, Cesc Fabregas, Tim Flowers, Robbie Fowler*, Ryan Giggs, David Ginola, Eden Hazard, Andrew Johnson, Roy Keane, Matt Le Tissier, Rob Lee, Danny Murphy, Scott Parker, Teddy Sheringham, Raheem Sterling, Daniel Sturridge, Luis Suárez*, Chris Sutton*, Fernando Torres, Tony Yeboah, Gianfranco Zola.

* denotes one shared award