Six-man shortlist for PFA Player of Year award named

Date published: Thursday 13th April 2017 12:20

The six-man shortlist for the 2016/17 PFA Premier League Player of the Year award has been revealed.

N’Golo Kante is the current favourite to claim the crown won by former Leicester teammate Riyad Mahrez last season.

The Frenchman is joined on the shortlist by fellow Chelsea star Eden Hazard.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who received backing from Liverpool legend Graeme Souness, is in the running after an excellent debut season for Manchester United.

The Swede is the third favourite after scoring 17 goals and assisting a further five in 27 league games.

Many felt that Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli could be in the running for the senior award, but the midfielder is not on the six-man shortlist. His teammate, striker Harry Kane, has made the final six.

The final two members of the sextet are Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez and the Premier League’s current top goalscorer, Everton’s Romelu Lukaku.

The 44th PFA awards will be held in the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday, April 23.

More Related Articles