Six-man shortlist for Young Player of Year award named

Date published: Thursday 13th April 2017 1:45

The six-man shortlist for the 2016/17 PFA Young Player of the Year has been revealed.

Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli won the award last season, and is in the running to reclaim his crown this year.

He is joined on the shortlist by teammate Harry Kane, who has also been named among the six runners to win the senior award.

Kane is not the only player to be named on both shortlists. Everton forward Romelu Lukaku, the Premier League’s leading goalscorer, is also on double duty.

While Kane is England’s only representative for the senior award, the home nation provides four names for the Young Player award, as Burnley’s Michael Keane and Sunderland goalkeeper Jordan Pickford are also in the running.

Manchester City winger Leroy Sane, Gary Neville’s pick, rounds off the final six after a promising debut campaign.

The 44th PFA awards will be held in the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday, April 23.

More Related Articles