Erik ten Hag still in top 10 all-time Premier League managers by PPG list

Current Manchester United manager Erik ten Hag and former boss Sir Alex Ferguson.
Erik ten Hag is under pressure at Manchester United.

Erik ten Hag might well lose his Man Utd job but the statistics would suggest he is the 10th best Premier League manager of all time.

The cut-off point is 50 games and there is no surprise at the lower/higher reaches of this list.


10) Erik ten Hag (Manchester United): 1.86 pts per game
Looks set to lose his job at the end of the season despite the statistics suggesting he has done a more-than-decent job. Just about keeps out Unai Emery and Carlo Ancelotti here.


9) Mikel Arteta (Arsenal): 1.92 pts per game
They ultimately came up short in the Premier League in 2022/23 and 2023/24 might well be the same again; they are on course for a very similar points total.


8) Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea): 1.94 pts per game
Good but ultimately not good enough for Chelsea, who sacked him in September 2022 with the Blues in sixth place. Was it harsh? Very much so. Did Chelsea look better for sacking him? Absolutely not.


7) Arsene Wenger (Arsenal): 1.96 pts per game
The high of the Invincibles (2.37 PPG) became the low of his final season in charge of Arsenal (1.66 PPG), long after he probably should have walked away. Sticking around longer than he was welcome probably cost him a few places on this list.


6) Antonio Conte (Chelsea and Tottenham): 2.03 pts per game
In the end, he became too toxic for both Chelsea and Tottenham but the record books show that he won an awful lot of points for both clubs (and a league title for the former). He made Spurs quite comfortably the fourth best side in England and that is some feat.


5) Jose Mourinho (Chelsea, Manchester United and Tottenham): 2.03 pts per game
His final half-season at Chelsea was disastrous, his final half-season at Manchester United was little better, and Tottenham was always an uneasy union that never quite felt comfortable. But there is no doubt that Jose Mourinho constructed one of the great Premier League sides first time round at Chelsea. He would be wise to resist a return that would taint his legacy further.


4) Roberto Mancini (Manchester City): 2.05 pts per game
He won Manchester City’s first Premier League title. What more do you want? Well, lots more apparently; he was sacked a year after he won that title having apparently failed to hit certain targets. It now feels ludicrous that City would ever go a whole year without winning silverware but 2013 was a different time.


3) Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool): 2.12 pts per game
The 2.61 PPM of the title-winning year then became 1.82 as the Reds stumbled. That he pulled that number back up to 2.42 in 21/22 was remarkable, but last season was a new low for a completed Liverpool season: 1.76. Now he’s set to leave at the end of a season which could become his best ever.


2) Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United): 2.16 pts per game
In 21 Premier League seasons, Ferguson’s Manchester United side only twice dropped below the two points per game mark. That is nothing short of remarkable consistency from a brilliant manager who managed to build three great, great sides. Most will forever see him as the GOAT whatever the man above/below him on this list achieves.


1) Pep Guardiola (Manchester City): 2.34 pts per game

The 23/24 season is the worst of his reign so far; the 2.06 points per game gathered by Manchester City is the lowest return of his eight seasons.

READ NOW: Liverpool among top 10 Premier League sides that were great and then went rubbish