Which Premier League clubs voted against early window?

Date published: Friday 8th September 2017 12:40

Five Premier League clubs voted against the early closure of the summer transfer window, while another abstained.

The senior executives of all 20 Premier League clubs met in London to vote on proposed changes to the transfer window on Thursday.

Fourteen clubs voted in favour of bringing the transfer deadline forwards to before the start of the season, which was enough to bring the change into effect.

The summer transfer window will now close at 5pm on the Thursday before the first game of the season – although clubs are still allowed to sell players to sides outside of the top flight.

The five clubs who voted against the change were Crystal Palace, Manchester City, Manchester United, Swansea and Watford. Burnley abstained from voting.

United’s vote appears to be in direct conflict with the wishes of manager Jose Mourinho, who stated in August that he would “prefer the window to close as soon as possible”.

According to The Guardian: ‘Those opposed to the rule change worry that Premier League clubs will be left short if their players are bought after the domestic window shuts and they are unable to replace them.’

They add that Liverpool keeping hold of Philippe Coutinho despite interest from Barcelona ‘convinced detractors that the Premier League could make a unilateral move without the rest of Europe’.

So blame Liverpool.

More Related Articles