Will Grigg voted 25th best player in Europe… actually

Date published: Monday 18th July 2016 11:05

Ever think the whole Will Grigg thing has jumped over several sharks? Think it can’t get any sillier? Assume that chant could never be more ubiquitous? Think again.

Wigan striker Grigg has been voted as the 25th best player in Europe in a UEFA poll of 55 journalists. You know who you are, guys.

The top ten in the award list is below:

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid & Wales)

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy)

Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid & France)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina)

Thomas Müller (Bayern München & Germany)

Manuel Neuer (Bayern München & Germany)

Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid & Portugal)

Luis Suárez (Barcelona & Uruguay)

These ten will compete for the title of Europe’s best player for 2015/16 with a second vote, which will determine the three finalists to be named on 5 August.

The jury will then cast their votes for the outright winner, which will be announced during the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 25 August.

The rest of the nominated players are then presented in order.

11) Riyad Mahrez (Leicester & Algeria)

12) Jamie Vardy (Leicester & England)

13) Dimitri Payet (West Ham & France)

14) Jérôme Boateng (Bayern München & Germany)

15) Arturo Vidal (Bayern München & Chile)

16) Luka Modrić (Real Madrid & Croatia)

17) N’Golo Kanté (Leicester & France)

18) Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United & Sweden)

19)= Eden Hazard (Chelsea & Belgium)

19)= Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona & Spain)

19)= Neymar (Barcelona & Brazil)

19)= Renato Sanches (Benfica/Bayern München & Portugal)

23) Robert Lewandowski (Bayern München & Poland)

24) Gonzalo Higuaín (Napoli & Argentina)

25)= Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus & Italy)

25)= Diego Godin (Atlético Madrid & Uruguay)

25)= Will Grigg (Wigan & Northern Ireland)

25)= Hugo Lloris (Tottenham & France)

25)= Paul Pogba (Juventus & France)

30)= Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham & Belgium)

30)= Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund & Gabon)

30)= Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium)

30)= Kevin Gameiro (Sevilla & France)

30= Grzegorz Krychowiak (Sevilla/Paris Saint-Germain & Poland)

30)= Blaise Matuidi (Paris Saint-Germain & France)

30)= Georges-Kévin N’Koudou (Marseille & France)

30)= Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid & Slovenia)

We can detect the strong smell of banter around these parts. Voting systems are terrified.

More Related Articles